Facing Your Fears

blonde_female_hide_her_face_behind_her_hand

I have faced the feeling of not being good enough for most of my life.  Sometimes the feeling is more intense than others.  Through introspection I think I may have nailed down the reasons behind my intense feelings of not being good enough.  These feelings were a protective shield that prevented me from facing my fears.  They were, in essence preventing me from being happy.

When I come to this point of realization, then I start to contemplate what will make me happy.  This can be a very scary place to go.  It requires doing things outside of my comfort zone.  I know that getting a job and being around more people will boost my spirits as well as my finances.  I would love to pursue writing, as it has always been a love of mine, but just an elusive dream.  I know this is not an easy dream to pursue, and there will be a lot of rejection ahead.

I came up with a million excuses to not be able to do these things that I knew would make me happier.  I can’t get a job because I haven’t worked in 10 years.  I can’t get a job because I don’t have any one to help watch the kids during breaks and the summer.  I can’t pursue the writing because it’s such a crapshoot.  There are so many people with something to say, who would want to read what I have to say?  There is so much rejection in the writing world.  I can sense the failure already.  And the biggest reason that will make me feel “not good enough” is failure.

Yet if I am real with myself I realize that past failures give me the strength to know that I can go on.  The gift of failure is that it helps us to grow.  Failing is NOT the worst thing that can happen to me.  Never having tried what my heart yearns to do is the worst thing that can happen!

So, I have taken the plunge.  Faced my fears.  Applied for the job. Got the job!  WooHoo.  That’s a real boost to the self-confidence.  I have registered for a writing course to start next week.jumping joypossible

So, what is holding you back?  What are your fears?  Be honest with yourself.  Open yourself up to the possibilities.  Grab life by the horns.  We only have one life to live.  Who wants to live with the “what ifs”?

6 thoughts on “Facing Your Fears

  1. Unfortunately the thing that holds me back is money. I have tried to get a job repeatedly, but without success. I see people around me being hired and it just breaks my heart. I have hopes of working in the AARP Jobs Program. I hope I can get on the list for that. I have computer skills, writing skills, skills working with children in the classroom. I just need help to pull it all together.

  2. Don’t give up! Don’t lose hope. Remember that everyone has their own journey in life (another post I am working on) and it may not be your time yet. Believe me, it has taken me a long time to get to this point. Money is a MAJOR issue for me as well, and I had hopes for a different job than I got. But, I am happy to have any job at this point. I sincerely hope that you find the way to pull it all together soon.

  3. Haha I am at exactly THIS point in my life. Fighting fears of rejection and ‘what if’s and just forcing myself to forge ahead knowing that I won’t be happy not having at least tried to live the life that I wanted. And congrats on the job! It’s rough out there…

    • Thanks about the job! You are at an awesome point in your life….your whole life is ahead of you, and you are the master of your domain. Enjoy the process and the journey you’re on. 🙂

  4. Congrats on your new job! I hope it’s what you wanted and that it makes you happy.
    Your posts read pretty well, love your style of writing.

    And nobody has ever written the same stuff twice, if it is your dream to be writer, you can one day be a writer I’m sure 🙂
    Anja

    • Thank you so much for the encouraging words. The job is not what I was looking for, but I really am enjoying it as it is something creative. Thank you for stopping by and offering your encouraging words. ~Florence

Leave a Reply

