The Seasons of Life

IMG_2564

Puddicombe Farms in 2010

The season of fall has come upon us this week.  We are back to the cooler air that requires those comfortable sweaters and warm blankets once again.  Scents of casseroles permeate the rooms of my house and the hot chocolate has been pulled out of the cupboard again.  Anticipation builds as we look forward to fall colours, apple cider and the privilege of viewing pumpkin patches on a wagon ride.

As the season has changed this week, so has my life.  I have entered another stage of life in which I am beginning to live my dreams and once again do things that I want to do (not HAVE to do).

Earlier in the week I started my writing course.  Doing something by myself for myself is something rather foreign for me.  I would do ANYTHING for someone else, but when it came to doing something for me, I would back up, shake my head and say thanks but no thanks.

I am celebrating the fact that I had the courage to enroll in this course, find my way there on my own and that I faced a group of 20 people I had never met before. Last year at this time I would not have had the courage to take one of these steps, let alone manage the whole string of them.

I have to admit that I did kind of freeze up when trying to introduce myself and tell what I hoped to get out of the course.  But, by the time we had written our first piece and separated into groups to share our work, I had gathered up the courage to offer to read my piece first.  Not because I thought it was so good.  I honestly thought it was horrible.  But who writes amazing stuff the first round anyways?  I just wanted to push the envelope and not be the last one standing.  Jump in and be brave.  Something I usually am not.  I also offered to do some “extra” work that the course instructor will tear to pieces and place red marks all over…oh, I meant make comments on.  He said to leave lots of room for comments.  Hmmm am I ready for that?  Yep, I sure am.  Throw everything at me.  I am ready to take any comments to help improve my work and help me grow as a writer.

Yesterday I had an orientation day at work, which was no more than watching some mind-numbing computer videos and being tested at the end of each one.  Real work starts next week, and I have to say that I am eager, willing and ready.  Nervous as well, but so looking forward to having a life outside of my four walls and doing something for me.

            I hope that my life will become as comfortable and full of colour as this season of fall.

           How is this new season treating you?

4 thoughts on “The Seasons of Life

  1. OMG. This is so good! Jump in and be Brave. Wow, wow, wow. Your courage leaves me speechless missy.

    I was just going to write to ask you how your first session at the course went. Sounds like you jumped in with both feet…and guess what?? You Survived! And dare I say, Thrived?!

    How did you feel after the class? How did it make you feel about yourself? About your future? (Ok, I can’t stop with the “coaching” questions!!) Actually I really am interested in your answers! Keep up with your amazing posts Flo. Every time I see a new post appear I get all excited. You are a terrific writer!

  2. Thanks Janice. Never stop with the coaching questions, they have helped me progress to this stage. I wish everyone who had eating/self-esteem issues could have a coach like you!

  3. I was smiling the whole time I read this, or is it my heart that was smiling!? Courage, pushing the envelope, jumping in and doing something for yourself AND being a mother. How proud you must be. This is my first visit but certainly not the last!
    Nathalie

Leave a Reply

