Living in the Moment

14345113-smiling-little-businessman-looking-confidentAre you happy right now, exactly where you are in your life?  Can you look yourself in the mirror and say, “Yes.  I am perfect for today!”?

A while ago I started reading about being content in the moment.  Being happy right where you are now.  “But how is that possible when I have so much that I want to change?  When there are so many things that make me unhappy? “ my inner voice would scream.

I have been working towards this frame of mind for a while now.  Living a life of regrets and what ifs was really no way to live.  Fighting that evil inner voice that sees so many things that need correcting or changing is not an easy task.  It has been there for so long convincing my inner self that it is right, when in fact that evil voice couldn’t be more wrong!

            We have to learn to be gentle and show love and respect to ourselves.  Is your inner voice being loving and respectful?  Or abusive and hurtful?  Does it praise you, or accuse you?  Does it lift you up, or knock you down?

Recently I read a quote that said you should start every day off by saying to yourself:  “I am blessed, and I am a blessing.”  I think this is a great way to program your brain to be happy.  You validate that you have enough for today (blessed), and you are actually more then enough (a blessing to those around you).  If your self-talk is rejecting this, then you have to stop it.  Put up an imaginary stop sign, and say No! to that voice.  After that voice is silenced you must put a positive spin on your thinking.  Yes, I am a blessing!  Yes I am blessed to have so much more then I need each and every day.  Say it 10 times or more if you need to.  Use it as a daily mantra.  Or find one that works for you in your unique situation.

              I needed to challenge most of what my inner voice was telling me.  Every comment I heard I would have to turn to a positive one.  And you know what?  It is amazing how powerful this exercise is.  Slowly, but surely, as you become your own cheerleader you begin to believe that positive voice, and believe in the possibility of YOU.  When you begin to realize all of the possibilities,  you will learn that we are all a work in progress.  We may not be where we want to be, but we are where we are meant to be right now.  This realization will enable you to say, “Yes.  I am perfect for today!”

2 thoughts on “Living in the Moment

  1. I think it is very important that you go easy on yourself and like yourself. That has only happened to me recently. It has really made a difference for me. I do wake up every day and know how blessed I am. God has been really good to me for which I am really grateful and blessed.

  2. I agree that this is of utmost importance in order to live a life of gratefulness–which in turn will equal happiness, for a grateful person is a happy person!

Leave a Reply

